The Magic of Spring

Posted: March 1, 2013 in Random Thoughts, Uncategorized

Winter is one of those events that in my mind is proof positive that no matter how much we evolve and advance our society and intellect, we are, at our core, animals. To be more specific, I spent the last three months or so wanting to crawl into bed and not come out until green things started poking out of the ground again.

Alas, this is a luxury that even I as a work-from-home person cannot afford. Okay, technically I could, but I wouldn’t feel good about myself for doing it. I do have a desire to contribute to the well-being of the household, even if a meager amount. I’m not a total slacker.

Yes, I do have a point. I’m getting to it in my usual roundabout way.

It would be unfair to completely blame Winter for my slump in productivity. Motivation is a precious commodity in my life, as I can never seem to dig up more than a few chunks at a time. It’s a failing of mine that I am trying to correct. I won’t lie, NaNoWriMo was a dismal failure. I was set back by a week at the beginning due to a mini-meltdown of my computer. By the time I got that all sorted out, the motivation to write slipped away more every day. It wasn’t a total failure, though. I did manage to get a couple of pages down, and that’s better than nothing.

I haven’t touched the damned thing since. Hell, I haven’t even touched this blog since November. I could conjure up a myriad of excuses but in the end that’s all they’d be: excuses.

By now you’re probably wondering what the title of this post has to do at all with the post itself, so I’ll get to the point: today is the first day of March, and while not technically Spring for a few more weeks, I decided to make a fresh new start at this whole writing thing. Having been officially published in December, it’s planted the seed inside my head that, hey, maybe I can do it again. I’ve had the support, encouragement, collaboration and outright help from some wonderful people in the last few years. I’ve fallen out of regular contact with many of them, much to my regret, but they are no less of an influence on me and my creativity. It’s about time I did something with everything they’ve given me.

My dear friend and regular partner-in-crime Veronica has once again given me a spark of inspiration. I took the time a few days ago to catch up with her, and during our conversation she mentioned she was using something called “The Magic Spreadsheet.” Curious, I asked her for details.  It’s a simple shared spreadsheet officially called ‘Daily Writing Challenge’, used by dozens of authors to keep a public running tally of their 250 words per day goal.

As simple as it is, as soon as V explained it to me and gave me the link, something clicked inside of me. I can’t even adequately explain it. It felt like an answer to my motivation problems. Definitely not the answer, but an answer that made sense to me. So I told V that come March 1st, I would start the challenge. As a consequence, it’s also motivated me to dust off this blog. I still won’t promise regular updates, but I’ll do my best to beat my 2 post a year average.

So there you have it. A little bit of magic to make Spring the time where I kick myself into gear. This post alone is two and a half days worth of writing, and I could keep going. It gives me a good feeling about this new little project.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I have words to wrangle.  Yee-haw.

Comments
  1. Yeehaw. FOREVER yeehaw. ^________^

  2. […] still going nowhere fast. Then V introduced me to the Magic Spreadsheet. I’ve talked about it before, so I won’t go into it in detail here. Suffice it to say, it has worked its magic. I got […]

Leave a Reply

